If your tags expire, what is the grace period in New York before you receive a ticket? Life can be unpredictable, and sometimes things slip through the cracks. Perhaps you had every intention of renewing your tags, but time got away from you. In such cases, you may be wondering if New York State provides a grace period to allow for late tag renewal without penalty.
A repo man is seen in action as he recovers property from owners who have defaulted on their payments.
How Do You Renew Your Registration In New York State?
Renewing your registration may seem like a straightforward task, but there are a few important things to keep in mind.
– It is possible to renew your registration before the expiration date without affecting the new expiration date.
– Military personnel may have extended time to renew their registrations.
– The expiration date for all motorcycle registrations is April 30.
If any of the following conditions apply, you will not be able to renew your registration:
– Your registration has been suspended or revoked.
– It has been over a year since your registration expired.
– Your vehicle has not undergone inspection in the past 12 months.
Will You Get A Fine If You Drive With Expired Tags
In New York State, there is no grace period for expired vehicle registrations. This means that if your registration has expired and you are pulled over for having expired tags, you can receive a ticket, even if it has only been one day since the expiration. According to the Vehicle and Traffic Law of New York (VTL § 401), this is the policy in place.
If the violation consists of failure to renew a registration which was valid within sixty days, the fine shall be not less than forty dollars.
If you’ve been driving around without renewing your vehicle’s registration for more than 60 days, and you get pulled over by the police, you could face a higher fine.
A violation of subdivision one of this section shall be punishable by a fine of not less than seventy-five nor more than three hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for not more than fifteen days, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Please note that this article does not offer legal advice or counsel.